Touchstone 2015-16 Awards

Information about Touchstone and the STC competitions follows the list of this year's awards, which are at the levels or Distinguished, Excellence, and Merit.

Distinguished

The entry is clearly superior in all areas. It contains no major flaws, and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly in the way it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience. We submit winners in the Distinguished category to the International Summit Awards competition, where they compete with entries from around the world.

Adaptive Code via C#

Microsoft Press

Gary McLean Hall Devon Musgrave

Voice and Tone Guidelines

Salesforce

Michael Hoban Lindsay Kara Victoria Lyon

Stefanie Anderson

Excellence

The entry clearly demonstrates an exceptional understanding of technical communication principles. It consistently meets high standards in all areas. It might contain a single major flaw or a few minor flaws. Winners in this category are eligible to enter the International Summit Awards competition.

Enterprise Deployment Guide for Oracle WebCenter Content

Oracle

Bonnie Vaughan Lingaraj Nayak

Touchstone Awards 1 of 5

Robust Responsive Online Help Design

Oracle PeopleSoft

Greg Parikh Jessica True Hideto Kishi

Satish Bettegowda

How to Use Notes Video

Salesforce

Michael Kabran Spencer McCall

Make Data-Driven Decisions with Reports and Dashboards Video

Salesforce

Daniel Heinrich Daniel Glogowski

Search Help and Video

Salesforce

Leah Scampoli Lila Giuili Natasha Saidikowski

Visualforce and Lighting Experience Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Michael Alderete

Material Hoist Instructional Video

Zep Solar

Brett Millar Benjamin Materna Rebecca Firestone

Material Hoist Operations Manual

Zep Solar

Rebecca Firestone Benjamin Materna Brian West

Katie Pesce William Buchanan

ZS Ramp Installation Instructions

Zep Solar

Bonnie Kim Ted Gittings Benjamin Materna

Touchstone Awards 2 of 5

Merit

The entry consistently meets high standards in most areas. It might contain a small number of major or minor flaws but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.

Administrator Guide

Adaptive Insights

Ealasaid A. Haas

K-12 Education Deployment Guide, Parts 1-4

Aerohive Networks

Joe Fraher

Agile Project Management with Kanban

Microsoft Press

Eric Brechner Devon Musgrave

Deploying and Managing Active Directory with Windows PowerShell

Microsoft Press

Charlie Russel Karen Szall

Microsoft Excel 2016 Step by Step

Microsoft Press

Curtis Frye Rosemary Caperton

T-SQL Querying

Microsoft Press

Itzik Ben-Gan Dejan Sarka Adam Machanic

Kevin Farlee Carol Dillingham Devon Musgrave

Touchstone Awards 3 of 5

Learn CRM Essentials: CRM Basics; Accounts & Contacts; and Leads & Opportunities

Salesforce

Erin Wagner Tidwell Chris Duarte Spencer McCall

Event Monitoring Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Justine Heritage

Getting Started with Sales Cloud Implementation Guide

Salesforce

Erin Wagner Tidwell

Nonprofit Fundraising Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Jon Varese Marc Baizman

Process Automation Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Sam Reynard Brian Donnelly

Salesforce 1 Mobile App Admin Guide

Salesforce

Michelle Chapman-Thurber Tammy Rahn

Sam Reynard Emily Wilska Carol Franger

Michael Floyd

Touchstone Awards 4 of 5

Touchstone

The Northern California chapters of the Society for Technical Communication (STC) sponsor the annual Touchstone technical communication competition. The proceeds of the competition help support the sponsoring chapters and benefit the STC Kenneth Gordon Scholarship.

Touchstone is one of a network of local competitions that produce the contenders for the STC International Summit Awards. Distinguished entries from Touchstone automatically advance to the international competition. Winners at the level of Excellence are also eligible to enter the international competition. STC announces the winners of the Summit Awards at its annual conference.

Judges

The following people evaluated the entries: Mysti Berry, Rebecca Firestone, Melissa Kulm, Patrick Lufkin, Lori Meyer, Joy Montgomery, Christopher Muntzer, Bruce Poropat, and Prescott Williams.

Volunteers

The following people volunteered in non-judging roles: Guy Haas, Judith Herr, Misty Herr, Joe Humbert, Patrick Lufkin, and Richard Mateosian.

Gold Sponsors

Touchstone thanks our gold sponsors, Syncro Soft, Balsamiq, and University of Chicago Press, for valuable software packages to use as door prizes. We appreciate their support of the technical communication profession.

Platinum Sponsor

Touchstone thanks our platinum sponsor, **Adobe Systems**, for a generous cash grant to the STC Berkeley Chapter to support the Touchstone awards event and for a one-year license for the Adobe Technical Communication Suite to use as a door prize. We appreciate Adobe's support of the technical communication profession.

Touchstone Awards 5 of 5