Touchstone 2016-17 Awards

Information about Touchstone and the STC competitions follows the list of this year's awards, which are at the levels or Distinguished, Excellence, and Merit.

Distinguished

The entry is clearly superior in all areas. It contains no major flaws, and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly in the way it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience. We submit winners in the Distinguished category to the International Summit Awards competition, where they compete with entries from around the world.

Wiring the Tesla Powerwall

Solar City

Todd Kaiser Charlie St. Clair Jerald Reodica Mariano Josue-Snellen Brett Millar

Excellence

The entry clearly demonstrates an exceptional understanding of technical communication principles. It consistently meets high standards in all areas. It might contain a single major flaw or a few minor flaws. Winners in this category are eligible to enter the International Summit Awards competition.

REST API Reference for Oracle Mobile Cloud Service

Oracle

Chris Kutler

Salesforce Industries REST API

Salesforce

Mike Jacobsen

Salesforce AppExchange Basics Trailhead Module

Salesforce

John Geyer Spencer McCall

Salesforce Lightning Components Basics Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Michael Alderete

Salesforce Fireside Chat Posters

Salesforce

Alex Dimitropoulos

Merit

The entry consistently meets high standards in most areas. It might contain a small number of major or minor flaws but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.

Ask the Problem Lady

Rebecca Firestone

Autodesk CFD Product Help

Autodesk

Len Whitehead

Semblance User Manual

Chevron

Liz Miller

REST API for Oracle Java Cloud Service

Oracle

Poh Lee Tan Nagavalli Pataballa **Deborah Steiner**

Lyz Lynch

Oracle Cloud Developer Solutions

Oracle

Josh Stanley Ben Cisneros Cristian Perez Jennifer Waywell Julio Tinajero

Salesforce Data Quality Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Michael Kabran

Salesforce Custom Metadata Types Trailhead Module

Salesforce

Justine Heritage

Salesforce Build a Battle Station App Trailhead Project

Salesforce

Jeff Douglas

Salesforce Relate a Single Contact to Multiple Accounts Video

Salesforce

Jillian West Jeremy Bivins

Salesforce Evaluate and Roll Out Lightning Experience for Your Org Help Set

Salesforce

Tammy Rahn

Salesforce Backup and Restore Essentials Blog Series

Salesforce

Dave Jacowitz Dan Daisuke Kawamoto Sova Julien Leclercq

Dan Yu Sovan Bin Steve Anderson Pete Reed

Touchstone

The Northern California chapters of the Society for Technical Communication (STC) sponsor the annual Touchstone technical communication competition. The proceeds of the competition help support the sponsoring chapters and benefit the STC Kenneth Gordon Scholarship.

Touchstone is one of a network of local competitions that produce the contenders for the STC International Summit Awards. Distinguished entries from Touchstone automatically advance to the international competition. Winners at the level of Excellence are also eligible to enter the international competition. STC announces the winners of the Summit Awards at its annual conference.

Judges

The following people evaluated the entries: Rebecca Firestone, Melissa Kulm, Patrick Lufkin, Michelle Lynch, Lori Meyer, Joy Montgomery, Chris Muntzer, Bruce Poropat, Prescott Williams.

Volunteers

The following people volunteered in non-judging roles: Guy Haas, Joe Humbert, Patrick Lufkin, Richard Mateosian.

Donors

Touchstone thanks the following donors for contributing valuable door prizes: Adobe, Balsamiq, MadCap Software, Syncro Soft, TechSmith, and WritersUA. We appreciate their support of the technical communication profession.

Platinum Sponsors

Touchstone thanks our platinum sponsor, **Adobe Systems**, for a generous cash grant to the STC Berkeley Chapter to support the Touchstone awards event. We appreciate Adobe's support of the technical communication profession.